Why do my customers see a $1 charge

Overview


When an order is placed (but it's uncharged), Stripe will send the buyer's bank a $0 or $1 authorization to verify that the card is valid.

This authorization ensures that a card is in good standing up until it's charged. Regardless of whether the authorization is accepted or declined, Stripe reverses the authorization immediately. This authorization is not a charge and will disappear from the buyer's statement; depending on the bank, it will be removed from the statement anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.

Furthermore, although the bank initially approved the authorization, it does not guarantee that sellers will be able to capture the full payment when the order is finally charged. Cards may still become expired or invalid over time.

Related Resources

Feedback and Knowledge Base