What happens when a charge fails?

Overview


When a charge decline occurs, Celery will automatically instruct buyers how to resolve any payment issues. The notification email can be found inside your Celery notification settings. Furthermore, a record of the event will be saved in the order history each time the failed charge notification is sent.



Below are the various steps taken, depending on the payment gateway used to make the purchase.

Stripe

1. Failed Charge Notification Sent


The order's payment status will be set to failed. Additionally, the failed charge email is automatically sent to the buyer. Keep in mind that only one email is sent per payment source and thus, if the seller attempts to charge again, a second email will not be sent unless the buyer updated their payment details and the new card failed to charge.

2. Buyer Updates Payment Details


Once buyers update payment details at the order lookup portal, sellers will receive a notification informing them of the update. Furthermore, this action will be recorded in the order history.



If the charge decline was caused by the buyer's bank, the buyer should notify the seller that the temporarily hold has been removed.

3. Seller Attempts a Second Charge


After the payment details have been updated or the bank hold has been released, the seller should attempt a re-charge.

PayPal

1. Charge Fail Notification Sent


The order's payment status will be set to failed. Additionally, the failed charge email is automatically sent to the buyer. Unlike Stripe, the failed charge email notification will be sent only once.

2. Buyer Confirms Payment Details Are Valid


Buyer should make sure there are sufficient funds in their PayPal account or that the credit/debit cards on record with PayPal are up-to-date and valid.

3. Seller Attempts a Second Charge


Because PayPal does not notify Celery when there is sufficient balance or when a new card has been updated, it is the responsibility of the buyer to notify the seller that this action has been completed. Once the buyer completes this task, the seller should charge the order again.


Feedback and Knowledge Base